Amanda’s Orange Salad

Standard

In my quest for new foods to add to my low carb life I found an old favorite that I wasn’t aware would fit in my diet. My friend Amanda has always brought the same dish to every pot luck dinner that we have ever attended, orange salad. I was always so excited, because she is te only person I knew who made it and I loved it so. A couple of weeks ago I got a craving for it but assumed it would not be carb friendly. I was wrong! I ask her for the reciep and found that just by tweaking the ingredients to be sugar free I could make and enjoy it to.

Ingredients:

  • 8oz container sugar free cool whip
  • 16 oz container cottage cheese
  • 1 box sugar free orange jello
  • 1 can del monte no sugar added mandarin oranges

In a large mixing bowl, mix cool whip and cottage cheese together until smooth. Sprinkle dry jello mix in and mix until blended. After draining off excess water mix in the oranges. Chill over night. Amanda says it is very important to mix the ingredients in that order or the salad won’t turn out. I don’t know how true that is, but I didn’t want to chance it. Yields 5 cups.

Nutritional info (per ounce):

  • Calories 31
  • Carbs 2
  •  Protein 1.4

  

2 responses »

Leave a comment